Is Recognition Fair?

Over the past few months I have been identifying the factors that affect people’s perception of fairness in offering recognition.

The first factor: The more you single people out the more likely you are to be perceived as unfair.

Hopefully, you are saying to yourself, “Wait a minute! Isn’t that what recognition is all about, singling people out? Absolutely. Team recognition singles out teams. Individual recognition singles out individuals.

So, what do you do? What you don’t do, is give in and stop recognizing. Do think about what you can do to manage perception. More later…

Copyright Cindy Ventrice 2007

1 Response to “Is Recognition Fair?”


  1. 1 Brandon July 12, 2008 at 10:00 am

    I know plenty of people who feel that recognizing someone for something is more to motivate their peers than rewarding the individual.
    I just like singling people out. 😀


Comments are currently closed.



My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


