A Case of Pop on a Hot Day

When researching Make Their Day, I asked employees who they most wanted recognition from. One employee said,

“My vote is still with the line supervisor or manager who brings in a case of pop at break time on a hot day…that’s a tough act for any organization to beat.”

This employee is offering an example of a supervisor who respects his team. Nothing will engage your team more effectively than treating them with respect. These things all demonstrate respect:

  • Listen well.
  • Ask for team members’ opinions.
  • Learn what they want/need.
  • Consider all reasonable requests.
  • Trust them.

What can you do today to demonstrate your respect for your team?

Copyright 2007 Cindy Ventrice

My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


