Coping with Change

Recently, I received the following question:

“Why won’t my people implement a new system? Even the peak performers are balking.”

For a number of years I was a computer system implementation consultant. I know from experience that getting teams to embrace change is a tough challenge.

There are two main reasons why people might not want to use the new system, whether it is a computer solution or a change in the way people communicate with each other.

  1. They have concrete concerns that the new system does not address.
  2. The benefits don’t seem to outweigh the inconvenience of making a change.

The best way to get buy-in is to involve your team in the decision-making process from the beginning.  Clearly outline objectives, discuss the benefits, treat concerns with respect, explain the reasoning behind decision-making, and plan the roll out together.

What do you think? In your experience, what else causes people to resist change? What helps you to overcome that resistance?

Copyright 2007 Cindy Ventrice

My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


