New Year’s Resolutions for Managers

The New Year is traditionally a time for making positive changes: quitting smoking, exercising more, or eating less are typical resolutions. Less common, but just as beneficial are the changes you, as a manager, can make in the way you interact with your team. There are things you can do that will improve employee attitudes, enhance service, product quality, and safety. Small changes can create big results. Why not make a workplace New Year resolution this year?

I’ve selected seven that are simple and will produce positive results. Each day I will introduce one idea. Here is the first:

1) I will resolve to spend at least 15 minutes each day simply listening to what my employees have to say. I will learn, among other things, what interests them, how they like to be recognized, and how they would improve their job.

Managers spend so much time ‘telling’ they can forget the value of listening. When I’ve asked employees to tell me what their managers do that makes them feel valued, listening is always high on the list.

Copyright 2007 Cindy Ventrice

My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


