Follow Your Heart

Did you watch the SuperBowl? I can’t say I’m a fan, but I always watch the commericals. As someone deeply involved in creating motivating work environments, the Careerbuilder.com ads catch my attention.

CareerBuilder.com ads are designed to connect with the people in your organization who aren’t feeling particularly motivated or loyal.

They had two commercials this year. The one I want to discuss is Follow Your Heart. As commercials go, it was a bit icky and made a less than subtle point, but I will bet it spoke to a lot of employees.

As leaders, managers and supervisors, the questions this commercial should be raising for each of us it this:

Would the people in your organization (company, division, department or team) say their heart is in their work?

What can we do to to re-energize the workplace?

 

3 Responses to “Follow Your Heart”


  1. 1 lululeelee February 4, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I have to say, I watched very little of the superbowl, but that comercial caught my eye. I even commented on it to my husband, because no I have not followed my heart. I should have and I was wondering if it was to late. How old is to old to make a change. I mean that realistically. I can not cut my salery in half to start over or who will pay my morgage?

    Who know I had that in me?

  2. 2 Cindy Ventrice February 4, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    You don’t say what you do or how for what kind of company. Is it the job, the company or the manager that is making you want to follow your heart? What is realistic depends in part to your answer to that question.

    Cindy

  3. 3 Alice Wonderland February 4, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I think it’s smart because it focuses on targeting the individual who is unhappy with their job, and not on ‘inspiring’ people to get a new job…atleast not in the typical postitive sense that you would think. That is obviously very effective, as lululeelee pointed out above.

    I think the focus for managers should be in what will make their employees at least feel like they are part of the bigger picture at their company – make their employees feel like their job is important…because at the end of the day, if all managers try their hardest to make their employees feel the same way that they do about their job, they’ll probably lose – because you and I know that we all complain about our jobs – even dream jobs that we chose with our hearts.


Comments are currently closed.



My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


