Making Recognition a Habit

RememberFor most of us, changing behavior is an uneven process. It’s two steps forward. One step back.

If you want to be better at recognizing others there are some techniques that can help you:

1) Make recogntion the header of your to do list, figuratively and literally. Every time you think about what needs to be done ask yourself where you might sprinkle in a little praise or appreciation.

2) Stick a reminder on your computer. Try the acronymn PORT which stands for Praise, Opportunity, Respect, and Thank you. These are the four elements of meaningful recognition.

3) Leave yourself a message, voice mail or email, at the end of the day with a reminder of something you will do to recognize someone on your team. It will be the first thing you retrieve in the morning.

4) Subscribe to and read the Make Their Day weekly tips!

2 Responses to “Making Recognition a Habit”


  1. 1 Marie April 10, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    I put two “coins” in my left pocket at the beginning of each day. These represent two opportunities to recognize someone on my staff. By the end of the day, I make sure that both have been “spent”-meaning moved to my right pocket. This is a tip I heard somewhere and it really works–if I have forgotten to spend one or both coins by the end of the day, I start the next day with those and two for that day.

  2. 2 Cindy Ventrice April 10, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Excellent idea Marie! Thank you.

    Cindy


Comments are currently closed.



My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


