HR Conference and More

Wednesday I presented at the HRStar conference at the Los Angeles Convention Center. It was an excellent conference with presenters on everything from Appreciative Inquiry to Compliance Law. My session was on Designing and Implementing a Recognition Program That Works. I will be repeating this session when HRStar comes to San Francisco in July.

Attending my session in L.A. was Carry Metkowski of Charthouse Learning. The folks at Charthouse Learning are the people behind the Fish! philosophy videos, training, and coaching.

Anyway, after chatting on the phone a few times, Carry flew out from Minneapolis so that we could meet and she could see me present.

As sometimes happens when traveling, things didn’t go exactly as planned for Carry. She ended up at a hotel quite a drive from the convention center with no way to get to the conference (spring break – not a rental car to be found).

Eventually, after many hours, using the airport shuttle to take her from her hotel to the airport and then from the airport to the convention center she finally made it, just in time for my presentation.

Knowing the difficulty she had in getting to the convention center (she had called me earlier to say it didn’t look like she would be able to make it), I was happy to see that she was as positive and energetic as she had been in our earlier phone conversations.

She certainly seemed to live the Fish! philosophy, especially Choose Your Attitude. The proof, though, came after the conference when our shuttle arrived to take us back to the airport. The driver turned out to be the same person who had brought her to the conference just a few hours earlier.

The driver was absolutely beaming when he saw her. 

His reaction struck me as extraordinary because it meant that during this frustrating adventure, she seemed to have kept her positive demeanor throughout. Not only had she NOT taken out her frustration on the driver, she seemed to have Made His Day with her positive outlook.

Don’t we all have those moments at work, home, or wherever where we would just love to show our frustration, to Ick all over whoever is present? And if we indulge what happens? Our mood infects everyone around us.

All I can say is it was wonderful to see Choose Your Attitude and Make Their Day in action!

My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


