A Tip From a Reader

Jane Metivier, a  Service & Sales Supervisor for Wells Fargo, shares this tip:

“I have mailed a Thank You note to their home address when they go above and beyond. We have cards given to us to hand out, but I found a bigger impact when they get them with their family.”

Jane is a supervisor who has learned to gauge reaction when deciding the best way to recognize! 

It is easy to see why a note of praise sent to the home may have a bigger effect than one delivered at work — if you remember that employee recognition is about visibility and validity. People want to been seen, and they want their work to be valued. 

So many families really don’t understand what their loved ones do at work all day. Send notes of recognition to their homes and you can help them show that what they do is important

Do you have an employee recognition tip to offer? Tell me about it!

Cindy Ventrice

1 Response to “A Tip From a Reader”


  1. 1 Stacey Derbinshire April 17, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire


Comments are currently closed.



My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


