Pride as Employee Recognition

In Make Their Day  I talk about the recognition that is inherent in working for an organization that employees are proud of. It may be that the company produces a great product or performs a valuable service. It may be the organization is making a significant effort to become a “green” enterprise. It may be that the company is heavily involved in the community.

It is valuable recognition when people can say “I work for _____” with pride in their voices. Their affiliation provides recognition.

When the organization is a social service nonprofit, pride comes relatively easy. It is a little more difficult for a for-profit corporation. It requires an internal and external PR effort coupled with real work to create something employees can be proud of.

 Do you say “I work for _______” with pride? I would love to hear your story. Tell me about your organization. What do they do that creates this sense of pride? Lets provide some positive press for some terrific organizations!

1 Response to “Pride as Employee Recognition”


  1. 1 Steve Lincoln September 23, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Cindy-

    You’ve touched what seems to me to be the heart of the subject, which is satisfaction at being involved with the job at all. I find my work with http://www.goldrecord.com recognizing employees in other companies with our gold records to be very satisfying, with the good feedback we get from our happy clients. I’ve got a sort of second generation recognition since that’s our business to begin with 🙂

    Thanks for your immersion in and contribution to this important work.

    Steve Lincoln

    http://www.goldrecord.com
    Gold Records Custom Made


Comments are currently closed.



My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


