Time Out! Working with Millennials

On Tuesday I spoke at the The Motivation Show in Chicago on how to Motivate Millennials Using Employee Recognition. There was an excellent turnout and many people got involved in the conversation. As an opening exercise, I asked people to discuss their observations of Millennials in the workplace.

One gentleman had a story to share. His company had held a retreat. Employees traveled from other parts of the country to attend. The first evening there was a social. One Millennial showed up in shorts and flip flops… and was drunk. When he was told that he needed to change into appropriate attire he insisted that this was how he always dressed for parties, became belligerent and threw around a few choice words.

Once he sobered up he was put on the next flight home. Later, he was let go. During all this he was perplexed, “Why send me home?” “Why fire me?” he wanted to know, “Couldn’t you just give me a time out?”

Hysterical. I wonder if time outs worked when he was younger?

My name is Cindy Ventrice. I am the author of the best-selling book Make Their Day! Employee Recognition That Works and the companion guide Recognition Strategies That Work.

My work has been quoted in The New York Times, Alaska Airlines Magazine, Workforce Magazine, and Tim Sanders' book The Likeability Factor.


Visit my website www.maketheirday.com today!


Subscribe to feed

Subscribe to receive as Email

a


